THE Hon. Prime Minister, Hon. ‘Akilisi Pohiva has survived the vote of no confidence motion against him.

It was defeated by 14-10 votes.

14 legislators voted against the motion. Three People Representatives including Ha’apai 13 MP, Veivosa Taka, Tongatapu 4 Mateni Tapueluelu, Vava’u 16 MP ‘Akosita Lavulavu and 11 Cabinet Ministers.

The Hon. Minister of Finance and National Planning, ‘Aisake Eke abstained from voting.

The no confidence motion was tabled in Parliament last Monday.

It took only five working days for the House to debate on the motion.

Go to top